Error’d: But they are ALL new features!

A couple of days ago I was clearing out old CD-ROMs, the ones you get free with PC magazines, and gleaning them of software that I either wanted or thought I should check out.

One application that caught my eye was AceHTML 6 Pro, a development environment for HTML, CSS, JavaScript, ASP, and PHP. This morning I got around to installing it and it was all going well, in a follow-the-instructions kind of a way, until I was presented with this dialog box

Dialog box reads: Do you want to restore the menus and buttons to see the new features?

The dialog box reads: “Do you want to restore the menus and buttons to see the new features?”

I have no idea what this means. I have just installed this application for the first time, so

  1. I would expect the menus and buttons to be “restored”, if that means that they are returned to their default positions, and
  2. they are ALL new features to me, I’ve just installed the thing!

Please, software developers, give us dialog box messages that are actually meaningful to users. :)

(Error’d entries on this blog are named after the popular Worse Than Failure feature.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>